Wax: Encaustic Art

Melting wax and smearing it across a page. So much satisfaction! Varying success.

I can’t remember how I found out about encaustic art but I loved it when I was younger and found all the stuff for it buried in my parents garage. I love to hoard. Here’s my set up:


I’m no expert but it is just a so therapeutic. You melt some wax on an iron and wash it over the page. You try to add some details. When it works you smile and when it doesn’t you just remelt it and spread it out over the page. Bliss. Lots of fun pattern and mark making:

This one is my fave:

Thanking you May for helping me to rediscover this bit of fun!

Leave a Reply

