Sketching: Making Marks

Sketching. I quite like the idea of Autumnal walks, sketch pad in bag for the moment of inspiration that will define the next masterpiece. In reality, I find myself sitting, holding a pencil as if it’s something I’ve never seen before with no idea how to use it! THE FEAR OF THE BLANK PAGE. 

I’ve set myself a challenge. To make marks. It doesn’t have to look like anything that way! Shoo Rayner has some fantastic videos that I have used at school for the kids to develop their sketching skills – this one is a fave and I’ve decided to start with some mark-making: Why you should practise drawing.

I like how he compares doodling, and pattern making as piano scales – you’ve got to practise them to be able to use them! I don’t mind a bit of doodling! 

    

Leave a Reply

